Fooled Again?

Apparently, a democracy is a place where numerous elections are held at great cost without issues and with interchangeable candidates. — Gore Vidal

Or, as the song says, “Meet the new boss, same as the old boss.”

If you have read any of my previous posts discussing Obama, you will know that I was overjoyed at his election, and remain enthusiastic, overall. Nonetheless…

In an article on Dick Cheney’s efforts to line up a publisher – and a multi-million dollar advance – for his memoirs, The New York Times mentioned, parenthetically, that Bush, Clinton, Cheney, Rumsfeld, and even President Obama have all been represented in book contract talks by the same Washington lawyer, Robert B. Barnett [here].

An extensive list of some of Barnett’s other clients – including McDonald’s, GE, Karl Rove, Tony Blair, Benazir Bhutto, and Gwen Ifill 0f PBS’s The Newshour, to name a few – is available in Barnett’s profile on the website of his Washington firm, Williams and Connolly [here].

An article on Barnett, published in The New York Times in 2004 [here] notes that “[in] a city rife with partisan bitterness, Mr. Barnett, an ardent Democrat, bridges the gap.” But the willingness of these partisans to be represented by the same lawyer, and his ability to successfully represent them in negotiations, often at the same time, raises questions about just how deep or extensive the partisan differences really are.

Consider, as well, the college educations of some of this crowd:

  • President Obama: Columbia University; Harvard Law School [Wikipedia]
  • Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton: Wellesley College (where she was for a time president of the College Republicans group); Yale Law School [here; Wikipedia]
  • Former President George W. Bush: Yale University; Harvard Business School [Wikipedia]
    [How surprising: the President whose administration trampled all over US and international law and civil rights – in things like wiretapping, torture, invasions, etc. – doesn’t have a law background; and the President who stacked his administration with business cronies of his family, and bailed out all his business friends – remember Enron? – does have an MBA, the only President to ever do so.]
  • Former President Bill Clinton: Georgetown University; Yale Law School [Wikipedia]
  • Former President George H. W. Bush: Yale University [Wikipedia]

There’s an old radical slogan: “No matter who you vote for, you always elect a politician.”

And it seems, by and large, an East Coast establishment/Ivy League-educated politician, who went to law school, and does business with the same small crowd, and the parting/party on the left is now the parting/party on the right (cf Arlen Specter)…

The Who – “Won’t Get Fooled Again” – from Who’s Next (1971)

We’ll be fighting in the streets
With our children at our feet
And the morals that they worship will be gone
And the men who spurred us on
Sit in judgment of all wrong
They decide and the shotgun sings the song

I’ll tip my hat to the new constitution
Take a bow for the new revolution
Smile and grin at the change all around
Pick up my guitar and play
Just like yesterday
Then I’ll get on my knees and pray
We don’t get fooled again

The change it had to come
We knew it all along
We were liberated from the fold, that’s all
And the world looks just the same
And history ain’t changed
‘Cause the banners, they all flown in the last war

I’ll tip my hat to the new constitution
Take a bow for the new revolution
Smile and grin at the change all around
Pick up my guitar and play
Just like yesterday
Then I’ll get on my knees and pray
We don’t get fooled again
No, no!

I’ll move myself and my family aside
If we happen to be left half alive
I’ll get all my papers and smile at the sky
For I know that the hypnotized never lie
Do ya?

Yeah!

There’s nothing in the streets
Looks any different to me
And the slogans are replaced, by-the-bye
And the parting on the left
Is now parting on the right
And the beards have all grown longer overnight

I’ll tip my hat to the new constitution
Take a bow for the new revolution
Smile and grin at the change all around
Pick up my guitar and play
Just like yesterday
Then I’ll get on my knees and pray
We don’t get fooled again
Don’t get fooled again
No, no!

Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!

Meet the new boss
Same as the old boss

Leave a Reply

